Board of Directors

  • Iskander A. (Alex) Shalaby
    On September 1, 2008 Alex Shalaby was appointed Chairman of the Egyptian Company for Mobile Services (Mobinil) by Board consensus; prior to that he was its President and CEO since 2005. Alex Shalaby was Chief Officer for Regulatory Affairs at Mobinil from 1998 to 2005 and was responsible for the licensing and regulations required in setting up Mobinil as the first mobile operator in Egypt. Between 1993 and 1995, Shalaby was Regional Director for International Public Affairs for AT&T, based in Cairo, Egypt, where he was the principal interface with key agencies within the governments in the region on matters impacting AT&T's operations. Shalaby was Managing Director for AT&T in Egypt, and General Manager for the Middle East and North Africa region until 1993. In 1966 Shalaby graduated with a Bachelors of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Alexandria and a Masters of Science degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from San Jose State University, USA.
  • Javed Saifullah Khan
    Mr. Javed Saifullah Khan is the Chairman of the Saif Group of Companies. He has been managing the group business for the past 34 years. He did his M.B.A from the University of Pittsburgh, USA in 1973, and has rich experience in Textiles, Telecommunication, Cement and IT industries. Apart from holding memberships of different government and social organizations, he has remained Chairman, All Pakistan Textile Mills Association, Central Managing Committee for two years and Chairman, N.W.F.P Textile Mills Association, Central Managing Committee for seven years respectively. He is Member IT & Telecommunication Advisory Board, Ministry of Science and Technology, and Member of Task Force on Liberalization & Privatization of Pakistan Telecommunication Company Limited. He is also the recipient of the prestigious civil award of Sitara-i-Imtiaz conferred on him by the Government of Pakistan.
  • Maan El Amine
    Mr. Maan El Amine joined OTH in 1999. Prior to his nomination as CEO of M-link Maan contributed to Hutchison stake's acquisition in 2005. Before that he was the CEO of Oasis, OTH subsidiary in DRC, since 2003, where he successfully managed the resurgence of the company and contributed to its divestiture. Since September 2001, he was Marketing Director of Mobinil, in the business development field within OTH. Prior to that Maan was the CTO and then CEO of SyriaTel trial network, after which the BOT contract was awarded to Syriatel. He contributed to the launch Mobinil in 1998, where he was the engineering manager. Maan started his career in 1994, with France Telecom Mobile Lebanon, in 1996 he was nominated system engineering manager. Maan holds a Maitrise in Electronics and Automation from Rennes I and a DEA from Paris VI Universities in France.
  • Emad Farid
    Mr. Farid joined the Orascom group in 1992 where he held different managerial positions. As of 2000, Mr. Farid joined OTH as the Chief Operation Officer, and was subsequently appointed as the CEO of Syriatel. Mr. Farid is currently the Group Chief Operation Officer at OTH. Moreover, Mr. Farid is a Board Member & Chairman of the Board in several OTH subsidiaries.
  • Anwar Saifullah Khan
    Anwar Saifullah Khan is Co-Chairman of the Saif Group of Companies. He is also the Chairman of a number of the Group Companies including Saif Energy, Green Fuels and Lahore Compost. Anwar Saifullah Khan joined the Civil Service of Pakistan in 1970. During his years in government service, he held key field and staff appointments including Deputy Commissioner of Mardan and Kohat Districts. He served as Consul General of Pakistan in Montreal, Canada from 1980 to 1984. He resigned from the Civil Service in 1984 to join the Saif Group. In the general elections of 1988 Mr. Anwar S Khan was elected to the National Assembly of Pakistan. Following the 1990 General Elections, he became a Senator and served in the Senate of Pakistan until March 1997. During his service as a public representative, Mr. Anwar S Khan held the following Cabinet positions: Federal Minister for Environment and Urban Affairs (1991 to 1993) Federal Minister for Petroleum and Natural Resources (1994 to 1996). Anwar Saifullah Khan holds an MA in Political Science from the University of Peshawar, an MA in Politics, Philosophy and Economics from Christ Church – the University of Oxford and a Masters in Public Administration from the University of Southern California.
  • Youssef Fayez Shoukry
    Mr. Youssef Fayez Shoukry is the Chief Financial Officer of Orascom Telecom Media & Technology Holding. Mr. Shoukry has previously held position of CFO in ASEC Cement one of Citadel Capital Group subsidiaries. He has also worked as the CFO and was the Board Member of Orascom Telecom’s ISP subsidiary LINKdotNET, prior to that he was assigned the role of Manager Finance at Al-Ahram Beverages Company (Heineken Egypt). Since 1998 to 2000 Mr. Shoukry held the position of Head of Corporate Finance of White House Securities Company. In 1997 he joined Arthur Anderson and worked as a consultant to the Egyptian Government and a Financial Analyst to US Aid in the privatization projects. Mr. Shoukry started his career as a Financial Analyst for projects financing in the Export Development Bank of Egypt. Mr Shoukry has a Bachelor’s degree of Commerce, Major Accounting from Helwan University 1994.
  • Khursheed Ashraf
    Mr.Khursheed Ashraf is the General Manager ( Business Division ) for Waleed Associates in Muscat Sultane of Oman. He has been working on senior position for the last 40 years. He is in the board of management of Siemens LLC Oman & NEWREST WACASCO, Oman. He is the part of the Executive committee members of National Telephone Services Co. Oman and Executive committee member of Rees Oil & Gas services LLC, Oman. Prior taking professional assignments in Oman he served in Siemens Pakistan & Packages Limited in Lahore. By the virtue of education Mr.Ashraf is an Electrical Engineer.